I’m Sorry

 

I’m Sorry.  Those have to be two of the most hollow words in the world, right?  I hear it like a thousand times a day.  I’m almost desensitized to it.  It’s like I’m Sorry is thrown around just to shut me up.  It is like I’m Sorry makes everything all better.

It doesn’t.  I’m Sorry really just pisses me off.  Slam a door.  I’m sorry.  Eat dinner with a friend and then ask.  I’m sorry.  Forget to turn a light off.  I’m sorry.  Break a pencil.  I’m sorry.  Dog barks.  I’m sorry.  Wake us up early on a Saturday morning.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.

I would almost rather not hear anything at all.  They don’t mean it.  I’m not entirely sure they actually understand what it means to apologize.  For anything.  It is like we are playing a marathon game of Sorry in this house these days.  I’m sorry makes me want to rip my ears off my head.  And I would look weird without ears.  How would I keep my fabulous glasses on?  I mean really.

Whoever came up with I’m sorry… I kind of want to run you over with my car.

Apologies if that offends you.  Heh.  See what I did there?

One thought on “I’m Sorry

  1. I know that teaching is NOTHING like actually raising children, but I feel you on this one so much I practically high-fived my laptop screen.

Leave a Reply

